top of page

Hexham Wedding Photographer - Hexham House and Abbey


Are you looking for a wedding photographer in Hexham?

I'm Emma - I'm an experienced photographer and people watcher, and I'm down to earth. I love quirky weddings with real personality. I provide wedding Photography with a focus on natural smiles, and real moments between you and your guests. I aim to create photos that will still be cherished in 50 years time.

Hexham House and Abbey Wedding - Megan and John

"Our amazing wedding photos arrived yesterday, and everything is perfect, even down to the USB with the cute otter logo! I can't sing Emma's praises high enough, she was exactly what we needed in a photographer. I love the relaxed unposed photos which tell a perfect story of our day! Thank you so much"


On an unusually sunny day in April I made the journey up to Hexham from Bishop Auckland to photograph the wonderful wedding of Megan and John. The ceremony venue of Hexham House was a short walk away from the stunning reception venue of Hexham Abbey in Northumberland.

Megan and John had met at school and been together for years. I met Megan and her (now) mother in law last year and we walked around the Abbey before sitting down for a chat about all the details of the day.












After negotiating Hexham’s Saturday car parking challenge (grrrr), I arrived at one of the newly refurbished apartments above the ceremony venue as Megan and her bridesmaids were having their make-up done. They had all known each other from school, so there were plenty of giggles and jokes that only old friends can get away with! The dress was stunning and looked fantastic hung up in the elegant apartment. Pastel bridesmaids dresses and flowers were hanging on the fireplace.















Fortunately Megan and John had a friend with a fancy car - so Megan was driven around from the apartment entrance to the front of Heham House in a blue Ford Mustang where she was met by her dad and bridesmaids.

Hexham House has only recently been renovated and what a fantastic job! Bright rooms with high ceilings, and original features. Beautiful doorways for grand entrances, a lovely private driveway for the wedding car to deliver the bride while the guests all looked on from the ceremony room. The service was lovely, and included readings by loved ones.









The short journey from Hexham House to the Abbey had plenty of spots for the formal photos. I like to keep this part of the day relaxed, so it was nice and short, and after a lovely confetti shower and a few group shots, all the guests headed upstairs to the drinks reception while I took Megan and John off for a few pictures of just the two of them.





What a cake! I’ve never seen one like it - a classic white wedding cake from the front, but hidden at the back, a dark side for Star Wars fans!














My favourite quote of the speeches was by Megan’s dad, “John loves gadgets, especially small things which provide a constant stream of information - no wonder he fell for Megan!”


My favourite guest (should I have favourite guests?) was this chap. “Don’t you get any photographs of me looking pissed!”.







After the first dance, all the guests headed outside to play with sparklers. I’m always nervous about people waving fire rods about after drinking all day, but luckily the only injury was a scorch to a shirt!

Fantastic venue, and fantastic couple - I wish them all the best for their life together.


bottom of page